This blog entry is titled “Untitled” because I don’t have an idea handy at the moment.

May 7, 2009

"Moon Key" by Jenny Meehan copyright 2008

"Moon Key" by Jenny Meehan copyright 2008

I am definately going to play around with the Kippfigur, ( J. Albers)maybe keep it in my bag for smearing colour into when I am waiting for the bus or something. What an endearing little beast it is.

My recent concentration on, well, colour concentration/intensity, as I try out different versions of my two recent photographic/markmaking combinations, “Flee” and, well, the other one, (still untitled at the moment)(it may well take on the name “Untitled”)(And I said I would never do that… oh dear)

Let’s get back to the point, if we can find it… Well, I am enjoying seeing some of my images which I have only seen on screen, in print. Colour is amazing… Colour on the screen with light has its own quality, colour laid down as a photographic emulsion has its own quality, the colour of oil paint, laid down with brush, in beautiful layers, has its own quality. It’s stunning how much difference there is, even in what appears, superficially, to be “the same colour”.

I have had a little meander…

[http://www.cs.brown.edu/courses/cs092/VA10/HTML/AlbersExplanation.html]

I have picked up stuff about colour theory before, though I fear making my art into a science with too much rational cerebral activity, it can be interesting to read about these things. I do like Josef Albers work too… I never realised I could get so much pleasure from a square. I have always thought the static quality of a square as a shape was interesting, and have experimented in the past (when making greetings cards with coloured paper) trying different combinations of squares, rectangles and colours.

I think if an image brings an element of interest, and also a slight feeling of confusion, (or maybe, more accurately, a feeling of not quite being able to understand what is going on, or what the image “means” for those of us that like that kind of thing), this is quite a desirable thing.

I understand (I think) that it is not possible for the human eye to grasp a figure in a purely geometrical way. One can see this very clearly when considering optical illusions of different kinds. These are based on the principle of combining two or more graphic elements, which, (as is so nicely put by Adrian Frutiger in his book “Signs and Symbols their design and meaning” ) causes  “Confusion between intellectual, geometric exactitude and that which is visually felt.”  Ahh, it is this which causes confusion for the viewer… Now I know.

Interesting.

Well, I’m pleased today having just sold one of my photographic/markmaking prints… it looks great in its new form. It was nice as a painting, but I think it has come up a treat in its more recent expression. It is titled “Three Sheep”. It started off as one of the paintings on a painting course I was on last year. It’s luscious. I have also sold a photographic print of “Moon Key” to the same person. I am pleased to say that, (unlike when it was on display recently as part of the exhibition for the the Kingston First photography competiton at the Bentalls Centre in Kingston recently)it will be displayed the correct way up!!! AAAAhhhh! And I put an arrow on the back of the print too!!! It’s fine on the website. Ah, well, I should just be grateful. At least it was chosen for the exhibition, not all of the entries were, only around half, so I must not moan. But, I want you to know if you have seen it…IT IS A LANDSCAPE…that is the whole point of it!

"Three Sheep" by Jenny Meehan copyright 2009

"Three Sheep" by Jenny Meehan copyright 2009

Leave a Reply

