Jenny Meehan: First Solo Exhibition “Articulation” at Leatherhead Theatre in August. Photographic Art, poetry, and painting.

June 6, 2009

This is Jenny Meehan's take on the current financial situation!

This is Jenny Meehan's take on the current financial situation!

One of the most exciting things for any artist has got to be your first Solo Exhibition.  I decided I didn’t want to wait for mine… I didn’t want to wear my shoes out, knocking on gallery doors, seeking representation. No way. Besides, I’m not gearing my artistic practice in that direction. I sell bits here and there, but I see my creativity, by nature, as being something which should not be tailored from the outside.  It’s an internal force which is, and should always be, forever pushing boundaries.  So, at present, I’m unwilling for anyone else to package me or what I do.  I don’t mind wrapping myself in my own personally designed paper, as long as I can burst out of it, when least expected.

So, with that said, I’m pleased to say I will be exhibiting a selection of visual artwork and poetry at Leatherhead Theatre in Surrey, for most of August this year.  If you would like to be put on my mailing list in order to receive details of this exhibition, do contact me via my website and tick YES on the mailing list box. YES, just YES, will do very well.  My website has a nice first person discourse, and lots of examples of my work. jennymeehan.co.uk

With the current financial situation, it’s easy to feel pessimistic. Feel it’s not the time to branch out creatively, to take risks, to jump on the Star Ship Enterprise and fly out into the unknown.  But I think, at times like this, it’s even more important to realise and embrace the value of the arts, of all varieties.  Why?  Because we have spirits which need feeding, need refreshment, and need stimulation. And it’s for that reason, and in order to make my contribution to improving the quality of life in some small but significant way, that I won’t wait, but just make my steps out there, in the gravity-free atmosphere. I hope I will encourage other artists as they read this, as well as letting you know about the event I am sweating blood, sweat and tears over at the moment.  

Take heart… don’t wait for it to happen.  Make it happen. Make it happen NOW!

Leave a Reply

