Art Journal Post July 2010 by Jenny Meehan

I have much to explore with drawing, and I am rather taken up with painting at present, but I am planning to use my sketchbook more, and I am hoping that over the Summer I will produce many more sketches and drawings which hopefully I will at some point put to use in a painting or two.  Drawing interests me in that it is one  way of developing visual awareness and sensitivity and it is  an extremely valuable discipline.   I learnt lots of different approaches during the time I spent life drawing, and I want to experiment with them over the Summer, out of doors, at West Dean Gardens, where I am repeating the excellent “Landscape and Figure Painting in Oils – The British Tradition” tutored by John T Freeman.

Apple Orchard Painting by Jenny Meehan aka jennyjimjams. Expressionistic landscape painting g of an orchard by Jenny Meehan 2009

Apple Orchard Painting ©jenny meehan 2009

 

Bosham Harbour 2009 painting by Jenny Meehan aka jennyjimjams, landscape painting by Jenny Meehan

Painted at Bosham, Sussex, United Kingdom

 

scraper charcoal drawing from imagination jenny meehan, charcoal drawing

scraper charcoal drawing ©jenny meehan