Jenny Meehan, Finished Painting from “Landscape and Figure Painting in Oils – The British Tradition” Painting Course At West Dean College

August 27, 2010

A lot of my oil paintings from the most excellent “Landscape and Figure Painting in Oils –  The British Tradition” course by John T Freeman are not finished but there are a few I have finished mulling over, so here is one of them which has undergone the necessary process of being sent through the computer for viewing over the internet.  John T Freeman is one of the most gifted teachers I have had the good privilege to have stumbled upon.  I can wholeheartedly sing the praise of every tutor I have learnt from at West Dean College, Sussex, come to think about it. I think they are careful, and rightly so, when choosing who teaches there.  It’s a great place, and I love meeting people dearly, and there are so many people who love artistic expression, it’s all a bit heavenly.  Yes, I am missing it.   It is a privilege to go there too.  Though I think the courses do represent very good value, (and I am fortunate to be married to a man who does believe in supporting me in my endeavours), we are not a wealthy household in the financial sense, and my attendence on such a course does mean other important things need to give way. 

Thankfully, next year, though I will not be able to attend the Summer School at West Dean (It is a hefty chunk of cash!) I have £100 off voucher due to the West Dean College “Loyal Lobster Scheme”.  I am saving a bit each month and along with that I will be able to participate in another course next year.  I have wanted to work with lino printing for a couple of years.  My photographic work has over the course of time leant further and further in the direction of blocks of rich colour and I would like to explore this direction using a different printing process to that of photographic reproduction. One that opens up some new possibilities.   And ink… I did try it out this year at the West Dean Summer School in a taster session, and it was POWERFUL stuff! I did not like the smell or the consistency, so maybe that does not bode well, but the COLOUR!  I do feel I want to continue the strands which have emerged from my photographic art, and this is certainly one of them.  I think it’s going to be a useful tool for some interesting work in the future.

One of my experiments carried out at West Dean College, 2010

I am exploring many exciting and interesting ways of manipulating paint and it is opening up lots of expressive opportunities.

Leave a Reply

