West Dean College, Chichester, Sussex – Short Courses in Visual Art. Just back from West Dean College: “Fantastical Painting Using The Dynamics Of The Imagination” tutored by Christopher Gilvan Cartwright

August 17, 2011

Look at the mess, beautiful, isn't it!

This is the kind of studio space I would like to have all the time!

 

I’m back from a most excellent course at West Dean College in Sussex once more.  The short courses there enable me to introduce new elements to my practice and though I can only afford to take part in very short courses at the moment – Summer School is now completely out of the question – I still find even a course of two days duration is enough to effectively act as a kind of trampoline from which I can throw myself on and bounce off into new directions.   I sometimes wonder if I need any new directions, as I hardly have time to develop the ones I am already exploring, but I trust in the knowledge,( which does seem to be the case), that because my work is based on a foundation of truth and an honesty of expression, that even in the midst of apparent chaos, of diverse experimentation and of sometimes very different “styles”, there is a constant about it which roots it into the earth and prevents it from blowing away completely.

This course “Fantastical Painting Using The Dynamics Of The Imagination” tutored by Christopher Gilvan Cartwright was very helpful to me indeed, most particularly in the respect of me understanding and developing the ability to critique my own work.  It is a great pain to me that I work in such an isolated situation most of the time, and this of course denies me the opportunity to exercise in a more conscious way the thought processes, which while they are a by product of the work, and certainly not the centre of it,  still provide much interest ,and sometimes useful pointers, when I am considering where to take a particular piece of painting or sculpture.  So this was very useful indeed, and not the usual type of input gained from very short courses, more the type of thing I would engage in on a degree course or similar.  I needed this level of input, and it was very timely indeed.  The tutor was very good at giving focused feedback and suggestions to all members on the course with  a very well differentiated approach which was much appreciated by all. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

