Mark Gertler 1891-1939 “Merry Go Round” 1916 Oil Painting At Tate Britain

October 9, 2011

I first came across this painting years ago.  It was on the front cover of a book of short fiction stories; stories which inspired me so much I ended up doing a degree in Literature a few years later.  Starting to read fiction led to a lot more than I had ever imagined it would!   This painting was the reason I picked up the book initially, and how lovely to see it in the flesh at the Tate Britain recently.  What a masterpiece it is!  It was painted at the height of the First World War by Gertler who was a conscientious objector.  To transform a merry go round into a military machine is a masterstroke in itself.  He explained, ‘Lately the whole horror of war has come freshly upon me’.

 

One Response to “Mark Gertler 1891-1939 “Merry Go Round” 1916 Oil Painting At Tate Britain”

  1. jennymeehan Says:

    Please note that my website is now http://www.jamartlondon.com as http://www.jennymeehan.co.uk has expired! Take a look at my website for more art work by Jenny Meehan and sign up for my bi-annual newsletter. You can also sign up as a follower on my wordpress blog!


Leave a Reply

