“Inking Outside The Block” Visual Art Exhibition – Surrey Artist Jenny Meehan at the Cornerhouse Community Arts Centre, Surbiton, Surrey KT6 7SB

November 10, 2011

“Inking Outside the  Block” is very corny, but I like it,  and corny-ness, if there is such a word, is no crime.   It fits the bill in terms of motivation for putting on this exhibition, which is my third solo exhibition.  It is “Inking Outside The Block” for several reasons, though I think I would have chosen this title anyway, because “thinking outside the box” describes well  the essence of creative thinking.

Anyway, the other thoughts around the title are that seven of the works on show are printmaking experiments which I produced at West Dean College, Sussex, this Spring.  This was my first time working with ink and lino, and I  found that I enjoyed working “outside the block” in two ways. The first was that instead of cutting the lino and printing from that,  I preferred to cut into paper and use it as a stencil, and the second was that I became very interested in using rollers experimentally,  both in terms of making different printerly marks and also of printing “outside the block” in the sense of printing outside of the standard rectangular format which I had previously associated with linoprinting.

I’d love to carry on with my experiments with ink, rollers and paper, so look forward to that in the future.  My main focus currently is still painting, and there are plenty of examples of that on show too, mainly work from 2010, but also including paintings I’ve done this year.  If you are able, do come along and take a look at what I have been doing.  It’s a small scale, friendly, community type opportunity to see my  work and talk about it, if you enjoy that kind of thing.

http://www.thecornerhouse.org/shows/show.aspx?showid=280

The exhibition runs from Tuesday 6th December to Friday 30th December.  The opening night, which is open to all, is Tuesday 6th December 7pm to 9pm.  I will be there to answer any questions about my work and it should be an enjoyable, sociable time too.  Drinks and nibbles will be available, and there is work offered for sale, ranging from £15 for digital C-prints, up to around £300 for framed paintings.

It is possible to get access to the exhibition during Cornerhouse opening hours, but these do vary depending on what else is going on.  If you cannot make the opening night but would like to come along and view the work at another time, then take a look on the Cornerhouse website to see when the building is open.  Alternatively, feel free to contact me on j.meehan@tesco.net or via my website www.jennymeehan.co.uk .

Preparing for the exhibiton has brought the issues of storage  and transportation of paintings into my mind.  Thankfully I don’t have

Leave a Reply

