Visiting the Saatchi Gallery – Jenny Meehan Contemporary Artist’s WordPress Journal

February 4, 2012

Visited the  Saatchi Gallery.  Two items of interest here for me.  I REALLY liked  the gallery with Gert and Uwe Tobias’ large works, see:  http://www.saatchi-gallery.co.uk/artists/gert_tobias.htm   I am increasingly rather fond of woodcuts and to see these collages  of  printed paper put together to make such large work was bound to be of interest.  What intelligent use of colour and design.  There is no denying the power of the two working together.  I love that pressed down application of powerful pigment/oil ink.  Quality, and quantity! 

 I also liked the sculptures of Georg Herold 2010 and 2011.  The combination of the underlying form of the battens and the stretched canvas with its violent lacquer colour coating really works well as a means of expressing the human form and the work was both beautiful to the eye and technically a wonderful achievement for sure.     See: http://www.saatchi-gallery.co.uk/artists/georg_herold.htm?section_name=artists_germany

A wobbling mirror made me feel quite ill, and wasn’t working properly;  it was meant to start vibrating when you stood in front of it, which it didn’t!  There is quite a lot I won’t mention, due to a mixture of lack of interest on my part, and the precious nature of time. 

Below a small section of one of my paintings.  This was oil, but I am using a lot of acrylic now, mainly to experiment with texture  in a more explicit way.      

Leave a Reply

