Edward Burra Exhibition at Pallant House Gallery, Chichester, Sussex – Jenny Meehan Contemporary British Painter WordPress Journal

February 23, 2012

Just looking at my notes from a recent visit to Pallant House Gallery, Chichester, Sussex.  A favourite gallery, especially as they chose to exhibit one of my digital C prints a few years ago as part of their St Winifred’s Hospice/”Outside In”  Open Art Competition. 

In the display of Edward Burra’s paintbox, there was a “Guitar” tube of paint!  I remember them!  Only one, the rest W&N. 

My favourite work is this one:

http://www.gac.culture.gov.uk/work.aspx?obj=21322&tid=132414

I liked the contents of room 15 “The British Landscape” most in the exhibition.

I find emotional charge in landscape very inviting.

Currently busy with preparing some work for the next exhibition “Some Kind Of Narrative”  (Stephanie Greenslade and Jenny Meehan).  I am looking forward to this very much, and it is delightful to me to be working with a friend on something, much more enjoyable than putting something on by myself.  More interesting, more to talk about, more to reflect on.  It will be at Leatherhead Theatre, Leatherhead, Surrey.  I will put more information up soon. 

Leave a Reply

