Visual Art Exhibitions, Exhibitions and more Exhibitions…(I need a hole to hide in!) Cornerhouse Community Arts Centre Evening with the Deputy Mayor and Mayoress of the Royal Borough of Kingston Upon Thames

June 10, 2013

Well, it’s good, but while I may have an exhibitionist kind of streak in me, I am finding myself wanting to have some quiet, reclusive time alone with just some paint.

Leatherhead Painting Exhibition “Order and KAOS” now finished. 

The Leatherhead exhibition is all taken down now…I love taking exhibitions down, it is so much quicker than setting them up!!!!  Here are some more images from the exhibition.

Nigel Prabhavalkar's paintings at Order and KAOS  painting exhibition

Nigel Prabhavalkar’s paintings at Order and KAOS painting exhibition

Derek Turner's(left) and Jenny Meehan's (right) paintings at Order and KAOS painting exhibition

Derek Turner’s(left) and Jenny Meehan’s (right) paintings at Order and KAOS painting exhibition

Jenny Meehan's painting (left) and Derek Turner's painting (right) at Order and KAOS exhibition

Jenny Meehan’s painting (left) and Derek Turner’s painting (right) at Order and KAOS exhibition

“Jenny Meehan Recent Paintings and Prints” Exhibition at the Cornerhouse Community Arts Centre, Surbiton

One down, then one up…Hanging the Cornerhouse Community Arts Centre exhibition went well, took an hour and a half.  The Surrey Comet did an article on it but I cannot find it on the net as yet.  Also published in the Kingston Guardian.  Had a lovely evening with the Deputy Mayor of the Royal Borough of Kingston Upon Thames  Councillor Alan Dean and the Deputy Mayoress Mrs Miriam Dean, along with many other folk.   A good turn out, and a delight to give an “Artist’s Talk”  (or rather, an attempt to convey in words what I am trying to do through my work!).  I got good feedback about the talk…quite enjoyed it.  I like talking, always have done.

 jamartlondon fine art prints emerging female british artist designer visual art exhibition event jenny meehan art prints exhibition cornerhouse with alan and miriam dean deputy mayor and mayoress of kingston upon thames

Jenny Meehan exhibition

 jamartlondon fine art prints emerging female british artist designer visual art exhibition event jenny meehan art prints exhibition cornerhouse with alan and miriam dean deputy mayor and mayoress of kingston upon thames

“Signs of the Times” hung at the Cornerhouse Community Arts Centre, Surbiton Surrey

 jamartlondon fine art prints emerging female british artist designer visual art exhibition event jenny meehan art prints exhibition cornerhouse with alan and miriam dean deputy mayor and mayoress of kingston upon thames

“Allotted” Exhibition at The Beetroot Tree Gallery, Draycott, Derbyshire

Coming up next in June is the “Allotted” exhibition at The Beetroot Tree Gallery, in Draycott, Derbyshire.  I want to try and get along to this, as I have three pieces of work in it, but not sure if time will allow.  Hopefully I can.  It looks like a good exhibition, very interesting.  Here is the press release:

PRESS RELEASE

 

Exhibition: Allotted

 

15 June to 27 July 2013

 

With a nod to the way we carve up our personal space in homes, allotments, office desks, ‘Allotted’ presents individual spaces in the gallery of artist’s worked form a broad range of media.

 

Centre stage in the gallery will be a new realisation of the ‘Gallery Garden’ from Bethany Walker (concrete and textiles) and Stevie Davies (kiln fused glass) previously seen at the National Centre of Craft & Design.

Surrounding displays come from: Andy Cairns, the alchemy of recycling; Claire Williams, twisted silver jewellery; Jenny Meehan, Digital Prints; Karoline Rerrie, illustrator and printmaker; Kate Robotham, painting conceptually driven by an interest in materiality; Katherine Jones (Printfest Printmaker of the Year 2013), the  metaphor of the glass house explored through printmaking; Katie Gayle, Silver, Gold and Platinum hand crafted jewellery: Marie Wright, mixed media observing the fragility and changing nature of the area of Morecambe Bay; Nita Nathwani; organic forms in paper clay; Presiana Shisheva (winner of The Glass Prize 2103, student category), juxtaposing natural and manmade  materials to consider our built and natural environments; and Sue Lancaster, domestic landscapes described in textile design.

 

 

For further information please contact

Paul Storer [Gallery Director]

Tel: 01332 873 929 Email: info@thebeetrootree.com

 

VENUE:                        The Beetroot Tree Gallery, Draycott, Derbyshire DE72 3PP

DATES:                        15 June 2013 – 27 July 2013

TIMES:                         Open Daily 10am-5pm, entry free

 

Llewellyn Alexander “Not The Royal Academy” Exhibition at Waterloo, London SE1

Popped into Llewellyn Alexander today to take a look at the work currently on show as part of the “Not the Royal Academy” Exhibition and spent a good hour looking at the work.  I’m rather interested in the framing considerations right now, as well as the work itself, of course.  It is amazing how much difference the framing makes though, and I took the opportunity to study and think about this aspect of presenting my work, and took away a few good ideas too.   My painting “The Upper Room” wasn’t currently on show, but I am hoping that I will re-meet it on one of my London trips, as I fancing taking an image of it hanging there if possible.

Llewellyn Alexander “Not The Royal Academy” Exhibition at Waterloo, London SE1

I recommend a visit to Llewellyn Alexander…it’s located at 124-126 The Cut, Waterloo, London SE1 8LN (opposite The Old Vic Theatre).  The exhibition changes on a three weekly basis,  so it’s going to be an exciting place discover paintings for some time as the exhibition runs until August 17th 2013.  I am learning with my own painting that the time my paintings are worth most to me is when I am in the process of painting them, and after that, though it is very easy to continue the attachment, this isn’t wise, well, maybe for a short time, as one mulls and reflects and thinks and wonders about them, also casting a critical eye, but not for too long.  Now with digital imagery, it is possible to use past work to inform the present work very easily, and there is no need to still have the painting with me, which is a wonderful thing.  So, while I am so pleased with what I achieved with “The Upper Room”, I am most keen for it to go to someone else who can enjoy it, and enjoy it’s full presence with their own eyes without having the trouble of painting it themselves!  It’s been giving a lot to me, and I can still draw from it; I will never loose what I have learnt, I will only sow it in another painting, and let that one go too. I have realised I don’t want to die in a pile of my own paintings. They serve me best in the process, after that, they will bless someone else.  This surely is the point?

abstract acrylic painting christian art sacred symbolism jenny meehan

lyrical abstract painting selected for “Not the Royal Academy” exhibition at Llewellyn Alexander Fine Paintings Waterloo this year 2013. For sale.

“Lines” at The Strand Gallery

http://thestrandgallery.wordpress.com/blog/

The private view for “Lines” at The Strand Gallery is tommorrow.  I cannot wait to see the work on show.  I didn’t realise that they got as many as 1ooo entries for it.  I really am one of the chosen few then.  The work and other artists showing look really interesting and I am very much looking forward to the evening. I’ll probably pop into the National Gallery just before, as it’s so near by.

And REST….

Next plan….Do nothing! (Well, maybe a bit of housework and some gardening! )

Leave a Reply

