Geometric Abstract Design Painting for All Glass – Delightful Grayson Perry Lights up my Day – Kingston Arts Salon – Brixton Drawing Project – Urban Dialogues Exhibition and Women’s Event

October 16, 2013

Geometric Abstract Design Painting in Progress Images

Just working on a geometric abstract design painting for All Glass in Paisley.  Enjoying the experience of using past experiments with textures in a rather more structured way.  I have always delighted in John Tunnard’s paintings and it is certainly interesting working with such a sense of order with both colour, texture and space.  It doesn’t feel too restrictive, there are still plenty of decisions to be made along the way, even though not one gestural mark in sight…Well, a tiny little bit to add variation to some of the areas but nothing that stands out and shouts “Look at Me!”  One of the most interesting parts of this project is translating the design, which was organised using vector graphics, and letting it take a new form in the material of the painting.  There’s no point in trying to copy from one medium to another, as the materials dictate their own directions and there is a need to be flexible and open to change.   This makes what could seem a rather laborious and unrewarding task unexpectedly interesting.

Here are some images of the work in progress:

Geometric  Non Objective Abstract Painting in Progress by Jenny Meehan, john tunnard influenced abstract painting by female British contemporary 21st century female painter designer jenny meehan,english modern painting influence,romantic abstraction geometric acrylic,glass texture surface abstraction, experimental exploratory painter visual artist from britain,jamartlondon,blues purple white grey black coloured painting abstract,

Geometric Non Objective Abstract Painting in Progress by Jenny Meehan

Messy edges everywhere, but while I am still working out the various surfaces, adjusting colours and generally playing around, there is no point making everything tidy at this stage.    I think I will also move away from a totally clinical look even in the final stages, with variations and imperfections playing their own part, though the black and grey areas will be knife-edged, I think.  (The colours are now quite different!  I have done a fair bit since inserting these images in the blog, but will put some more up in the next entry!)

I’ve got an idea now of what I will do with the existing ideas for colour, and also where to take the different areas to in order to create some interesting relationships…  Not sure about the hessian, even when colour is changed, so that may be coming off…  Though very different, diametrically opposite even, from how I was starting my paintings last year, I am enjoying the change in approach, though I don’t see myself sticking to this completely  pre-defined starting point/structure, unless I was working very large, in which case it would be wise.   I  think the process of navigating a way forward probably does come from pushing ahead one way, then reacting in another direction, then melding, then continuing…testing…. Maybe with repetition, deviation and hesitation! And always with reflecting, meditating, responding, analysing and generally waiting for paint to dry.

I am currently beginning to find that the combination of continuing with the reflective and analytical practice of both personal psychotherapy tied in with my faith journey as a Christian is providing many wells of potential directions for my painting, poetry and other work with imagery.  As always, I seek focus through reflection, and seek insight and wisdom as to decisions connected to my paintings and other work.

The Archive of Failure…

How could I resist not getting involved in this interesting project?  !!!!

We all know what it means to fail…

Aaron Head has put together “The Archive of Failure” which I am sure will be amusing and interesting view.

I won’t post mine up right now, as I don’t want to spoil the impact of the publication, but I cannot wait to see the other images included in “The Archive of Failure”

http://archiveoffailure.com/

Thinking about failure, I failed to get my submission of artwork into the Urban Dialogues Exhibition this year.  It’s always worth enquiring as to how many submissions were received and how many artworks were selected.  I did enquire and this was the result:  “This year we received 255 submission of artwork, of that yours was shortlisted to the final 30. In the end we had to settle on 20 artists to show.”     Ahhh, so close and yet so far.   Though it is disappointing not to be able to show something, and the application process and pulling the work together all takes time, I guess I can be pleased to have been among the final 30.  This is the value of asking, because it is too easy to get demoralised when you enter things and don’t get selected.   I really like the Urban Dialogues purpose/project and don’t think this failure will put me off making the effort to enter something next year.  I went along to the  women’s event at the Red Gallery this week and had a  good chance to see the exhibition then.  The best part of my visit was seeing “The Fury Project”.  The discussion was good, but too short, which is a shame because the panel were all very interesting women in their own right and it would have been good to hear more from both them and the other women there.  A “red herring” was thrown in at one point, and this unfortunately did the usual thing that red herrings do…plummet the direction of an interesting debate into the abyss…   It happens so easily and so quickly.  But there was a lot of very good reflection and opinion in the main. Details of the Panel:

Discussion Panel: FEMINIST ACTION – ON THE RIGHT TRACK?
Chaired by BBC Correspondent RAZIA IQBAL
With:
LAURA BATES – Everyday Sexism Project
JULIE SADDIQI – Islamic Society of Britain
DR ALTHEA LEGAL-MILLER – King’s College London
Jacqueline Nicholls – Artist

Pallant House Gallery, Chichester

I am very fond of Pallant House Gallery in Chichester, and normally make a visit there when I am in that neck of the woods, which is usually when I am doing some course or other at West Dean College in Chichester.  Rather short of money for attending courses at the present time, and so I won’t be making a trip to Chichester or West Dean for some time…Maybe I will need to give this exhibition of Eric Ravilious  woodcuts, lithographs and blocks a miss, which is a great shame as I LOVE his work.  The blurb for the Ravilious Prints Exhibition taken from the Pallant House Gallery website  is quoted below:

“Our new autumn season kicks off this month with an eclectic array of openings and events, starting with an exhibition of the celebrated painter, designer, book illustrator and wood engraver, Eric Ravilious (1903 – 42). One of Britain’s most popular and versatile artists, Ravilious produced distinctive watercolours, lithographs, and graphics in the 1930s for companies such as London Transport and ceramics for Wedgwood which are hugely evocative of the era. The exhibition, runs from 8 October – 8 December 2013 in the De’Longhi Print Room and includes woodcuts, lithographs and blocks by the artist.”

Eric Ravilious produced a huge amount of high quality work over his busy life, and I get great pleasure from looking and reflecting on his amazing craftsmanship.

Grayson Perry Playing to the Gallery 2013 Democracy Has Bad Taste – The Reith Lectures

The best part of my day today  (16/10/2013) was listening to this!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b03969vt/The_Reith_Lectures_Grayson_Perry_Playing_to_the_Gallery_2013_Democracy_Has_Bad_Taste/

Brixton Drawing Project

I love walking around London and spend a fair bit of time exploring, so you can imagine how pleased I was to stumble into Brixton East, 100 Barrington Road, Brixton, SW9 on Sunday to find a beautiful and interesting space, lots of paper, charcoal, pencils, etc, and people drawing, relaxing music, an amazing lavatorium (this is my playful name for a toilet, loo, restroom, etc), and a very nice cup of tea.  (Thank you so much for that! It inspired my artworking!)   I found out that the Brixton Drawing Project, (now in it’s third year, I think) is a week long event and started on the 1st of October, so I felt fortunate to have made it there by accident.   I also bumped into an old friend, unexpectedly, which was lovely and she kindly gave me a home made pastel.  This may not seem very exciting to many, but home-made art materials always go down very well with me; I love using them and I was most grateful for it.    It is wobbly and distorted and full of natural and individual charm…Just like the most interesting people in life!

The Brixton Drawing Project managed to get funded this time around through crowd funding, which is fantastic and meant that they did not need to charge people for taking part.  I feel strongly this is a very important kind of facility and activity to exist, as it connects people, all people…Not just those who might label themselves “artists”, but anyone who may like to play…Play with markmaking, responding, seeing.   Spend time observing, looking, interpreting.  Drawing is a natural and essential activity, I think, and it’s wonderful to have been able to share in the Brixton Drawing Project in a small way.  They held an exhibition of the work carried out on Sunday from 7pm  (mine included) and it was rich in variety, a real delight to see.  Though I didn’t attend from 7pm onwards, there was a lot of the drawing up ready for the exhibition on the walls when I came earlier on in the day, and so I got to see quite a bit of it.  Here are my image of the Brixton Drawing Project when I was there…

Brixton Drawing Project - Jenny Meehan at Brixton East.  My offering, in charcoal.  There is a small figure standing in the realm of a markmaking landscape.  jenny meehan markmaking drawing experimental exploratory,romantic landscape with moon

Brixton Drawing Project – Jenny Meehan at Brixton East. My offering, in charcoal. There is a small figure standing in the realm of a markmaking landscape!

jenny meehan brixton east,brixton drawing project, drawbrixton image

jenny meehan brixton east,brixton drawing project, drawbrixton image

jenny meehan brixton east,brixton drawing project, drawbrixton image

jenny meehan brixton east,brixton drawing project, drawbrixton image

jenny meehan brixton east,brixton drawing project, drawbrixton image

jenny meehan brixton east,brixton drawing project, drawbrixton image

Kingston Arts Salon

Quite a sociable time at the moment, and it was great to view the KAOS (Kingston Artist’s Open Studios) exhibition once more at the Cafe at Court Farm Garden Centre in Worcester Park during the Kingston Arts Salon Networking event.  I think it is very valuable and important for creative practitioners of all varieties, be they into music, writing,  visual arts, drama, dance, etc to mix, because we are engaged in the same wonderful creative adventure, in different forms…These forms can relate in so many interesting ways, and we can learn so much from eachother.

Leave a Reply

