“Open Art” Open Studio hosted by Jenny Meehan – All Saints Church North Aisle Exhibition – Surrey Artist’s Open Studios 2015 – What is Spiritual Direction? – Meditation

November 29, 2014

Open Art” Open Studio – Jenny Meehan 

Date:  13th December

Time 2pm til 6pm

This is not a selling event, just an opportunity to come along and see some of the paintings I am working on at the moment.

Please RSVP if you plan to come along, as space is limited.

Tea, Coffee and biscuits provided.

Cntact me via my website contact form  www.jamartlondon.com 

 

We have just taken this down, but it went down very well, and got positive feedback.

 

“All Saints Church North Aisle Exhibition

Nataliya Zozulya has kindly curated a small
exhibition of varied work  by  invited artists
who participated in the “Angel Project”, in the
North Aisle of All Saints Church in Kingston.

The exhibition runs from 11th November until
25th November 2014 and can be viewed at all
times when the Church is open.

Invited artists include Nataliya Zozulya, Jenny Meehan,
Stewart Ganley and Chris Birch who are also members
of KAOS.

Everyone is welcome to come along and have look at the
show, it is situated in the tranquil environment of the
North Aisle and perhaps, while you are there, you may
enjoy a coffee at the cafe in the newly refurbished church .”

north aisle kaos exhibition 2014 all saints kingston

north aisle kaos exhibition 2014 all saints church of england kingston

 

north aisle kaos exhibition2014 all saints church of england kingtons upon thames , kingtston artists open studios group ehibition, jenny meehan, chris birch, nataliya zozulya

north aisle kaos exhibition2014 all saints church of england kingston upon thames

All Saint’s Church in Kingston Upon Thames has  been refurbished and it looks fantastic.  I like particularly the lovely angels on the ceiling which stand out beautifully.   As it is the run up to Christmas, I’d like to share my “Angels Project” design with you.

all saints church angels project design angel abstraction holy holy holy image jenny meehan

all saints church angels project design angel abstraction holy holy holy image jenny meehan

 

Ivon Hitchens

I come back again and again to admire Ivon Hitchens paintings.  They are an education in themselves.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ivon+hitchens&safe=active&es_sm=93&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=-pxjVPvNKfK_sQTU6ILgBA&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAQ&biw=1366&bih=643

Surrey  Artist’s Open Studios 2015

I am pleased to say that I will be taking part in the 2015 Surrey Artist’s Open Studios as part of the Kingston Artist’s Open Studios group.   I plan to show some paintings and a few digital prints and though it seems ages away, I know from experience how quickly the time flies, and so invite you to make a note of the Surrey Artist’s Open Studios well ahead of the actual dates, which are from the 6th until the 21st of June 2015.  The weekends I will be participating in are the weekend of the  13th and 14th and the 20th and 21st and I will be part of a group showing in Kingston Upon Thames in Surrey.  If you are interested in joining my mailing list and/or coming along to see not only my work, but that of the six other wonderfully talented artists, then contact me via the contact form on my website www.jamartlondon.com, and I will send you further details about the Surrey Artist’s Open Studio group I am part of nearer the time.  It’s going to be good!

For general information on the Surrey Artist’s Open Studios:

http://www.surreyopenstudios.org.uk/home/visitors/open-studios/

To see my Surrey Artist’s Open Studios Page on the Surrey Artist’s Open Studios Website:

http://www.surreyopenstudios.org.uk/home/visitors/find-a-surrey-artist/artists/?mem_id=993

 

What is Spiritual Direction? – Some Descriptions for Consideration

As I become increasingly interested in various retreating practices, the contemplative way of life, spiritual direction (spiritual mentoring/guiding) as a ministry to others and invest time into researching and experimenting with this increased emphasis in my life, I have endeavoured to try and locate some descriptives/definitions of “spiritual direction”.  When I mention “spiritual direction” most people haven’t heard of the word, and it is an alien term to many people, or at least, it appears so, from my limited experience.  As is the case with so many things in life, sometimes the terminology and and language we use can present blocks to  helping people to gain an understanding of something related to faith. “Spiritual”   and “Director” are two very loaded words, and together, I think, sound rather unattractive!   It’s a shame,  but in response to my aversion to the terminology, I can at least attempt something positive by offering some perspectives on the matter, rather than just my own!  Here is one I find attractive:

“Spiritual guidance is being present in the moment, seeing and honouring the sacred mystery of the soul of another. It is witnessing this mystery and reflecting it back in word, prayer, thought, presence, and action. Spiritual guidance is modelling a deep relationship with the Divine and standing in faith and love with the other as that relationship unfolds. Spiritual guidance is a journey of deep healing and an affirmation of Holiness (wholeness), the Sacred, and the Mystery of all of life.”

Carol A. Fournier, MS, NCC, Interfaith Spiritual Director/Guide, Silver Dove Institute, Williston, Vermont, USA

(Carol A. Fournier.  “A Voice for Compassion and Wisdom:  Reflections on Interfaith Spiritual Direction.” (in publication, VT:2012))

I will continue to add to this strand in the journal every now and again.  I use the journal as my own note taking device, and it’s very handy to skim over on a mobile phone for a quick review of what has caught my attention.  I am not very good at note keeping on paper… Well, I am , but the notes get put on so many different surfaces and put in so many different places that they are impossible to track down!  I have sketchbooks which have become notebooks, random papers which have become folded into leaflet type documents, bookmarks which have become very important ideas records, only to become completely  lost in books which have also become lost!  Because space in our house is in short supply, I am finding that I tend to stuff things in whichever little crevice or nook I can find!

 

Painting

Nice quote:  “The best reason to paint is that there is no reason to paint.”—Keith Haring

Short and sweet, another little viewing of one of my much loved painters:

http://www.cvenard.com/the-painter/

The realisation that quite extreme and loose, free flowing  fragmentation in a painting could be attractive, valuable, beautiful, and interesting has never left me since discovering the paintings by Claude Venard.  I sometimes feel when I am painting with a high level of abstraction and drawing from my subconscious that I am very fortunate to be a painter in the time I am in, where I can look back and constantly locate numerous examples of fine painting with such ease on the internet.  It isn’t the same as seeing the painting in the flesh, but, it does a jolly good job of introducing ideas and approaches.  My London trips are a little less frequent now, because I have decided to spend more time painting and researching (and exercising, in an attempt to trim down my dear body a little more!) but I still look out for interesting exhibitions on a regular basis.

 

John Seed Interviews Sangram Majumdar

This isn’t new, but I have come back to it to mull.  The whole blog posting is a very good read, yet these words from Sangram Majumdar stood out for me in particular:

“The phenomena of Facebook and Twitter, is in line with the exponential nature of how we are able to find information in any form, any time. For me, choosing to be a painter is an intentional decision to work on the other side of this streaming data- the slower and the tangibility of direct human experience. But apart from being anachronistic or foolhardy, I am curious as to how our understanding of our own immediate lives, when slowed to the measure of a heartbeat, compares to our daily intake of virtual experiences. What is real?”

Read the whole blog entry which is titled “A Conversation with Sangram Majumdar” by John Seed

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/john-seed/sangram-majumdar_b_1344795.html

I’ve been thinking a bit about the contrast between the kind of instant clarity of information available to us now because of the age we live in,  and the contrast between this and the unknown, and un-knowable even…the mystery…much of which we find in the process of painting (and yes, spirituality)…it may be it’s very delight, and freedom.  This thrusting outwards but inwards at the same time.  This venture into experience which is realised, but not fixed in a way which ties it up.  It is a poetic thing, painting.

 

 

Well by the Foot of a Tree by Jenny Meehan, wellbeing mental health art therapy, west dean college, jenny meehan artist female painter semi abstract landscape, colourist expressionist process led landscape painting,

Well by the Foot of a Tree by Jenny Meehan

 

Painting “Road to Recovery/Well by the Foot of a Tree” is an example of some of my earlier painting. It’s oil on primed board.  I haven’t painted on board for a while, but will do so soon, as I like the surface very much!  This painting was one of the two I exhibited at All Saint’s Church in Kingston Upon Thames.   It is titled “Road to Recovery/Well by the Foot of a Tree”  I forgot to put in the more descriptive “Well by the Foot of a Tree” title on the work when it was on display at All Saint’s, so there is a very high chance that those looking at it would not have the faintest idea of what it depicts!  It was painted from a line sketch at West Dean College, so was a combination of imagination and external landscape.  My smaller paintings on board are normally around just £60 – £100.

Wholesome Quote

“Put your own work on view in your home and studio, where you must live with and confront it daily. If your images cannot nourish you and sustain your own interest at length, they are unlikely to be of use to anyone else”  (Coleman, A. D. Depth of Field. University of New Mexico Press, 1998)

Another wholesome quote from A. D Coleman.  I learn a lot from gazing at my work as it hangs in my studio and home space.   Art works need time, and a lot of it, if one is to get out of them something of what one has invested in the creation.   Yes,  I do get tired of them, and they need to be changed often.  However,  I find it helpful to review why I have done something the way I have, and it’s good use of time, as the critical reviewing can take place randomly and regularly.  It is also good to appreciate one’s own work.  There is nothing wrong with this… It’s not a pride thing at all, but a recognition of the purpose of what you have done…it’s value to yourself.   I can look back, for example at the painting above, “Road to Recovery/Well by the Foot of a Tree” and see it’s place in my developing direction artistically in a way which is very helpful…indicating which paths to follow and which to leave alone.   It’s only by constantly confronting your work, with eyes which have changed through time and experience, that you can make it useful to yourself and useful to the unfolding exploration which is the main stay of any artist’s work and even existence.

 

west dean gardens photograph, west dean sussex estate, west dean college garden, black and white garden photographs jenny meehan, foliage landscape photograph meehan

watering system in glass house at west dean gardens near chichester

 

Photographic Imagery – Jenny Meehan 

I love to play around with images.

Meditation

Quote taken from the following website:

http://www.wccm.org/content/what-meditation

“Open to all ways of wisdom but drawing directly from the early Christian teaching John Main summarised the practice in this simple way:

Sit down. Sit still with your back straight. Close your eyes lightly. Then interiorly, silently begin to recite a single word – a prayer word or mantra. We recommend the ancient Christian prayer-word “Maranatha”. Say it as four equal syllables. Breathe normally and give your full attention to the word as you say it, silently, gently, faithfully and above all – simply. The essence of meditation is simplicity. Stay with the same word during the whole meditation and from day to day. Don’t visualise but listen to the word as you say it. Let go of all thoughts (even good thoughts), images and other words. Don’t fight your distractions but let them go by saying your word faithfully, gently and attentively and returning to it immediately that you realise you have stopped saying or it or when your attention is wandering.

Silence means letting go of thoughts. Stillness means letting go of desire. Simplicity means letting go of self-analysis.

Meditate twice a day every day. This daily practice may take you sometime to develop. Be patient. When you give up start again. You will find that a weekly meditation group and a connection with a community may help you develop this discipline and allow the benefits and fruits of meditation to pervade your mind and every aspect of your life in ways that will teach and delight you. John Main said that ‘meditation verifies the truths of your faith in your own experience’

Meditation has the capacity to open up the common ground between all cultures and faiths today. What makes meditation Christian? Firstly the faith with which you meditate – some sense of personal connection with Jesus. Then the historical scriptural and theological tradition in which we meditate.

Another good site to look at:

http://www.contemplativeoutreach.org/christian-contemplative-tradition

 

Jenny Meehan is a painter, poet and Christian contemplative  based in East Surrey/South West London.
Her website is www.jamartlondon.com.  (www.jamartlondon.com replaces the older now deceased website http://www.jennymeehan.co.uk)

Jenny Meehan BA Hons (Lit.) PGCE occasionally offers art tuition for individuals or in shared sessions.  Please contact Jenny at j.meehan@tesco.net or through the contact form at www.jamartlondon.com for further details as availability depends on other commitments.    

 Jenny Meehan works mainly with either oils or acrylics  creating both abstract/non-objective paintings  and also semi-abstract work.  She also produces representational/figurative artwork,  mostly using digital photography/image manipulation software, painting and  drawing.  Both original fine paintings and other artwork forms  and affordable photo-mechanically produced prints are available to purchase.  

I now have available selected prints from the “Signs of the Times” series, plus several other groups of photographic and digital imagery, available as poster prints through on my Photobox Gallery.  The Photobox Gallery is a handy facility for enabling people to buy my prints in a quick, easy and affordable way.  The prints I describe as “Poster Prints” because they are not signed and checked by me, but I am very confident about the quality.  They are in fact  A2 and A3 sized laser prints on Fujicolor Crystal Archive Paper (a silver halide colour paper, designed exclusively to produce high-image-quality colour prints on both analogue and digital printers).

Here is the link to my Photobox Gallery:

http://www.photoboxgallery.com/19507

There are other options for different types of printing on the Photobox Gallery, but at the present time I am restricting the distribution of my work over the Photobox Gallery to just A2 and A2 laser prints.   However, if you do want something specific, just contact me with your requirements and I am completely free, (thanks to not limiting these particular images to “limited edition”) to arrange to have prints made to varying specifications and to be signed and numbered.

Enquiries welcome.  I have more artwork than I can display on the internet, so let me know if you are looking for something specific in terms of style, function, or subject matter. 

Jenny Meehan exhibits around the United Kingdom.   To be placed on Jenny Meehan’s  bi-annual  mailing list please email j.meehan@tesco.net requesting to be kept up to date.

Also, you could follow the Jenny Meehan Contemporary Artist’s Journal at WordPress and keep informed that way. 

Note About Following Jenny Meehan Contemporary Artist’s Journal 

I would be very pleased if you would  choose to “follow” the Jenny Meehan Contemporary Artist’s Journal at WordPress and keep informed of what I am up to this way.   Just press  the “follow” button and pop in your email address.  You determine how often you get updates and you don’t need a WordPress account to follow Jenny Meehan Contemporary Artist’s Journal.  

You tube video with examples of photography, drawing and painting

by Jenny Meehan http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TAXqzMIaF5k

Website Link for jamartlondon:  www.jamartlondon.com 

Digital photography can be viewed on http://www.photographyblog.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=5491

Notice regarding my use of images on my Jenny Meehan Artist’s Journal blog:   I always try and contact the relevant artist if I include images of their work on my blog and make clear the source.  Where images are taken from other websites, I make it my practice to  cite the source and normally include a link to the place where the image was found.  When I include images I do so in the belief that this will not cause commercial harm to the copyright holder. I  believe that this is fair use  and does not infringe copyright.  Images are used in order for me to comment and reference them in relation to my own creative and artistic practice.  When I include extracts of text, I also do so with the understanding that again, this is permissible under the widely accepted fair usage terms with respect to copyright.

Outline of my “Fair Use”  rationale, which is applicable to all images from other sources which I include on this blog:
There is no alternative, public domain or free-copyrighted replacement image available to my knowledge.
Its inclusion in my blog adds significantly to my narrative  because it shows the subject which I want to refer to and relate to my own artistic practice and is necessary in order for me to communicate accurately my observations/critical appraisal/appreciation/educate my readers, in understanding my perspectives on art and life.  Inclusion is for information, education and analysis only. The text discussing the significance of the included  art work is enhanced by inclusion of the image. The image is a low resolution copy of the original work of such low quality that it will not affect potential sales of the art work.

 

My images:  Don’t use them without permission.  Contact me in the first instance.  Please.   If you wish to use them under the “Fair Use” it’s really nice for me to know you have found, like, and wish to comment on them.

Also:

Copyright for all works of art by Jenny Meehan is managed by the Design and Artists Copyright Society (DACS) in the UK. If you wish to licence a work of art by Jenny Meehan, please contact DACS as indicated below:
Design and Artist Copyright Society
33 Old Bethnal Green Road
London E2 6AA
Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7336 8811
Fax: +44 (0) 20 7336 8822
email: info@dacs.org.uk
website: http://www.dacs.org.uk

 

Leave a Reply

